Skip Navigation

School Board


Chair: Dr. Patricia Ryan Recupero, JD, MD

Dr. Recupero holds doctoral degrees in medicine and law. She is the former President/CEO of Butler Hospital in Providence; the Executive Vice President of Behavioral Health at Care New England; and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Brown University Medical School. Now retired, she is Care New England’s senior Vice-President for Education and Training. She has served on our school board since 2012.


Mrs. Patricia Baumgartel

Mrs. Baumgartel has worked in Catholic education for many years. She was a teacher at Bishop McVinney School, Providence; a teacher/administrator at the Community Prep School, Providence; and the Principal at St. Mary School, Pawtucket. She served for two years on the original school board and then as the first Director of Guidance at St. Patrick Academy, 2011-2013, where she continues to serve as a volunteer. Now retired, Mrs. Baumgartel was named the New England Region’s “Principal of the Year” for 2006 by the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA).

Mr. Maurice E. Guernon

Mr. Guernon worked as an English and social studies teacher at King Philip Jr.-Sr. High School for more than 30 years. He has also served as a member of the Glocester School Committee and worked for many years as a political consultant for local, state, and national candidates. He has written numerous articles and columns on education, politics, and religion, and is a founding member of the Pope John Paul I Association headquartered in New York City. Mr. Guernon is currently writing a biography of Pope John Paul I and serves as the principal at Sacred Heart Elementary School in East Providence. 

Mrs. Barbara Wright

Mrs. Wright is the former executive assistant to the Governor’s director of administration. She is a long-time parishioner of St. Patrick Parish and is the parish representative on the school board. She is a parish trustee, member of the parish finance council, a youth ministry adult leader, lector, Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion, retreat leader, and spiritual director. 

Ex Officio

Fr. James Ruggieri

Pastor, St. Patrick Parish

Mr. Bruce Daigle

Principal, St. Patrick Academy

Ms. Loraine Cournoyer

Board Secretary